MobileSyncBrowser
Manual

Return to Table of Contents

'RollBack' (Backup Protection)

Because iTunes normally keeps only the most recent backup, this can result in situations were a backup has been made only to find that this new backup is unsuitable, leaving many user wishing to have a safety net (an older version of the backup).

You now have the option of having MSB prepare these 'RollBack' folders ahead of time.


After reading a backup, MSB can modify the current backup folder so the next iTunes sync will create a new backup and not replace the existing one; this feature effectively creates an older, 'parent' backup.

NOTE: Because iTunes will not append to the existing backup, the next sync/backup will take a longer amount of time. This is normal under the circumstances.

Because this requires modification of the backups, this is disabled by default. You will be asked if you wish to allow this modification upon quitting (If you wish to enable this feature permanently, you may do so in the Preferences pane).

Within iTunes, these backups will be identified with 'RB' (RollBack) and the backup date. RollBacks are not displayed in MSB unless it is still the most recent backup.

Bearing in mind that backup folders are identified by numbers, you may see something like this in your Backup folder (the folder names will be different on your system):
Sample Backup folder
03c5aa6821b56060822352863c424acc6d4c
This folder contains the current iTunes backup and has not been processed by MSB
(if RollBack/Protect Backups is enabled). If this backup is processed and protected, it becomes the +0 RollBack.

03c5aa6821b56060822352863c424acc6d4c MSB +0
The MSB +0 at the end of the name indicates that this is the most recent backup for this device that has been processed by MSB (if RollBack/Protect Backups is enabled).
If a newer backup becomes the +0 RollBack, this RollBack will become the +1 RollBack.

03c5aa6821b56060822352863c424acc6d4c MSB +1
The MSB +1 at the end of the name indicates that this is the 'parent' RollBack (the backup that preceded the +0 backup).
If a newer backup becomes the +1 RollBack, this RollBack will be deleted.

See the Restoring section for more details on how to use a RollBack.